One Mom’s Journey to Health and Wellness

I took the day off today. It was the first day in a very long time where I wasn’t either seeing clients or doing something to build my private psychotherapy practice. It felt wonderful to drift through the day with no agenda. I planted myself in my hammock for almost an hour with my cuddly Chiweenie puppy. I think she enjoyed it as much as I did. I was amazed at how much the foliage in my little area of wood had turned into a wispy green umbrella. It felt cool and shady even though the temperature topped 90 degrees today. I looked around and made plans to enlist the help of my six year old niece to build a fairy house. I located the perfect tree for it. It has been awhile since I planned to do anything whimsical or creative for myself.

    Today is day 9 on the Standard Process 21-Day Purification Program. I am re-educating myself on what it feels like to drink mostly water, and to eat whole, live foods. I have felt a shift in my consciousness towards living a life that is more responsible towards my body, mind and spirit, and towards my planet. I re-watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead tonight with my 12-year -old son Elliott, who is doing the cleanse with me. It was cool to sit back and watch his reaction to the changes in one man from 60 days of juice fasting. He has learned so much the past 9 days, it amazes me. He has become interested in micronutrients, and soil depletion and has developed a taste for foods that I never imagined him eating. His enthusiasm is so exciting and his encouragement is such a blessing! Tonight his last words before going to bed were “Goodnight Mom, I love you. Thank you for helping me get healthy.” I felt really convicted, because that has been my responsibility all along. The busyness and stress have taken a toll on my whole family.
I slept eight hours straight last night. I woke up and it was light outside, I could hardly believe my eyes! Sleep has been such a problem for me for so long, I had given up hope that it would get better. I think my quality of sleep is improving as well as the quantity. Waking up feeling refreshed and revitalized is a beautiful thing.
    Tonight I found myself walking through my home giving thanks for so many little things that I haven’t paid attention to for years. Appliances that make my life easier, fans that move the air in my room to keep me cool, cold water to drink and candlelight are a few of the things I was grateful for this evening. Just getting into that state of gratitude really lifted my mood. I think it is hard to be grateful for things if you are too busy to notice them. I plan to notice a lot of things from here on out!
Leave a Reply

